Next Salon Discussion

First Tuesday current affairs discussion - Tuesday 5 December 7:00pm start

Tuesday 2nd Jan: First Tuesday Current Affairs discussion

We'll discuss two topical subjects

The Salon Recommends

Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

Donate via PayPal

Donations to development costs of website very gratefully received

Login Form



Manchester reviewed
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

The Toad KnewThe Toad Knew at Lowry Theatre

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall May 2017

 

A highly original and creative spectacle which sees six talented performers inhabit a dark and sinister, perhaps subterranean, world where the boundary between animal and human is unclear. Their purpose is seemingly to create pure light from a looming, omnipresent, ominous but excellently constructed set of lights hanging down from the stage, all interconnected and all seemingly with a life of their own. It could be said that once these come together it represents a giant heart that beats for all of their 'kind', or maybe it is an all-seeing eye that they need to worship.

 

If I am honest, then there are several stories; all of which intertwine, within this 100 minute non-stop roundelay, and I think every audience member will come away from the evening with a different insight and impression, with their own version of the story that has unfolded before them. I think that that was the company's intention.

 

Using physical theatre, dance, song, slapstick and circus skills all to excellent effect, this company of 6 inhabit this stage and their world with accomplished ease, and yet we know that it takes years of practice to make some of those moves look graceful and simple.

 

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Crucible by Arthur MillerCrucible by Arthur Miller

at Manchester Opera House

Reviewed by Karl Barnsley May 2017

 

I won’t ever wilfully miss an opportunity to see an Arthur Miller play. I love his work and want to see it done well, I don’t think that’s a big ask. Taking the opportunity to see the Crucible at the Manchester Opera House, I went along with not unreasonable expectations of seeing a fantastic show. Read on to be the judge of whether or not I thought Sell A Door Productions staging of Arthur Miller’s most celebrated play met such expectations.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Wonderland

Wonderland

at Palace Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall April 2017

 

Great acting, superb singing, and a look at the dark side of Wonderland! This is Frank Wildhorn's (music), Jack Murphy's (lyrics and book), and Gregory Boyd's (book) wonderfully sinister, almost Tim Burton-esque take on a much-loved children's classic.

 

Wildhorn's music is both fun and a little bit scary at one and the same time, with some genuinely brilliant moments and lovely harmonies, whilst the story is both familiar and strange.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Lord of the Dance

Lord of the Dance: Dangerous Games

at Palace Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall April 2017

 

It was way back in 1994 when Michael Flatley and Irish dancing took the world by storm in a specially commissioned piece for the interval at the Eurovision Song Contest. The show has morphed and changed somewhat since then growing in both size and popularity.

 

There was even a well publicised and acrimonious split between Flatley and the producers who both went their separate ways, forming two first class companies touring the world, both gaining acclaim and recognition with full houses wherever they went. I haven't seen any of the previous Flatley incarnations prior to this evening, and so was highly curious and extremely expectant.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Spring and Port Wine

Spring and Port Wine at Oldham Coliseum

By Bill Naughton

Reviewed by John Waterhouse April 2017

 

This is a play in the tradition of Lancashire comedies, centred around family issues in close-knit surroundings but rather than the austere background of say Hobson’s choice. Set around the turn of the last century, Spring and Port Wine puts the same familiar issues into a more modern setting, at the dawn of the swinging sixties.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Evita at The LowryEvita at Lowry Theatre

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall March 2017

 

On this night of a thousand stars, let me take you to Evita's door. If proof is needed that Andrew LLoyd-Webber and Tom Rice made one of the world's greatest Musical Theatre writing partnerships, then look no further than Bill Kenwright's production of Evita, currently on a Rainbow Tour, and at The Lowry in Salford until the end of this week.

 

This was a masterclass in Musical Theatre.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Grease

Grease

at Palace Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall March 2017

 

Sadly for me this evening, Grease was not the word. One of the most well-known and adored shows by both young and old alike, and with every song a 'hit', this is truly an iconic Musical which has been with us for almost 50 years.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Meat Pie, Sausage Roll

Meat Pie, Sausage Roll at Oldham Coliseum

By Cathy Crabb and Lindsay Williams

Reviewed by John Waterhouse March 2017

 

First and foremost, this is a play about football; the setting for the most part is a football stadium and when the action moves elsewhere, there is almost always a radio on hand (or even several radios) ensuring that the cast have live commentary of football matches, even if there happens to be a wedding taking place. Even the songs, or at least most of them, are about football (and the love of it).

 

It is true that a certain romance develops during the play but even here, the love of football eventually surpasses everything; a telling example being when Mandi, the bride- to-be (played with feeling and gusto by Jenny Platt) after admonishing friends and family not to talk about football during the ceremony, eventually feels compelled to lift up her wedding dress to reveal a small radio attached to one of her garters.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Dreamboats and Petticoats

Dreamboats and Petticoats

at Palace Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall February 2017

 

I have to admit from the off I did go and see this show with a certain amount of uncertainty or maybe even trepidation. However, after having watched the Musical, I can say that the story and performing were much stronger and more entertaining that I had imagined they'd be. I actually found myself being swept away by it all, and it was, by and large, a hugely enjoyable experience.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Legally Blonde

Legally Blonde

at Z-Arts Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall Feb 2017

 

If you were brave enough to go out last night with the tail end of Storm Doris still very much in evidence, and you happened to have been one of the lucky ticket holders to see Manchester Musical Youth's production of Legally Blonde at The Z-Arts Theatre in Manchester, then your journey was absolutely necessary and indeed totally worth it.

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 7 of 46
Join the Salon Email List
Youtube Video of discussion on Energy
RSS Feed for discussions
Manchester Salon Facebook Group
Manchester Salon Facebook Page
Manchester Salon on Twitter