Next Salon Discussion

First Tuesday current affairs discussion - Tuesday 8 January 7:00pm start

Tuesday 8th January: First Tuesday Current Affairs discussion

We'll discuss the stories breaking in 2019, introduced by Simon Belt

The Salon Recommends

Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner
Banner

Donate via PayPal

Donations to development costs of website very gratefully received

Login Form



Manchester reviewed
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

TaPestries 2018

Waterside Theatre, Sheena Simon College

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

This is Arden Theatre School's annual showcase for students on the BA in Theatre and Performance Course - Hence the TaP of the title. This year's show however was something a little bit different and perhaps a little special too.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Shrek - Palace Theatre

SHREK - Palace Theatre

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

Dreamworks Theatricals presented their stage version of the hit children's film, Shrek, this evening at Manchester Palace Theatre. With the same company behind this as the original film, then one would have thought it would have been stunning and engaging. One would have expected the children in the audience, (of whom there were many), to be thrilled and laughing all the way. Since this was not the case, then something clearly was not quite right.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

[insert slogan here] at HOME

[insert slogan here] at HOME

Part of Push2018

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

Manchester-based award winning theatre company Yesyesnono premiered their newest work this evening at HOME as part of their PUSH Festival.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

The Manchester Project at HOME

The Manchester Project at HOME

Part of Push2018

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

This is Manchester-based, Manchester-proud Monkeywood Theatre's theatrical ode to their city. Performed as part of HOME's PUSH Festival, there are 19 sketches each taking a different Manchester town as its starting point, and one of these plays will be performed before every performance in Theatre 2 during the PUSH Festival, and all 19 performed back-to-back for one more time only on the 27th January.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

The Return at HOME

The Return at HOME

Part of Push2018

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

The Return is a work-in-progress piece of physical theatre presented by Square Peg Theatre as part of HOME's PUSH Festival. PUSH is HOME’s annual celebration of the North West’s most creative talents.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester music reviews

The Halle Orchestra with RNCM students

The Halle Orchestra with RNCM students

at RNCM

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

'An Orchestral Concert to conclude the RNCM's String Festival' is a rather convoluted title, but quite a simple premise. A reduced size Halle Orchestra most graciously joined forces with students from the RNCM this evening to provide support, an invaluable opportunity and learning experience for those chosen few students to be able to play alongside one of the most renowned orchestras in the world. The string section of the orchestra therefore was half Halle and half RNCM students.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Vampires Rock: The Ghost Train

Vampires Rock: The Ghost Train

at Palace Theatre, Manchester

Reviewed by Johanna Hassouna-Smith, January 2018

 

Steve Steinman, writer, director and lead role, has created this rock musical which is touring the country throughout 2018 and 2019, so there is plenty of opportunities to catch this lively show.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Kicking against the Pricks

Three short plays by Sam Orton and Hilly Barber

at Studio Salford, The Kings Arms, Salford

Reviewed by John Waterhouse January 2018

 

Kicking against the Pricks is in fact three short plays of equal length, loosely connected by the common theme of some of the struggles faced by the less advantaged in modern life. The overall result is a surprisingly varied cocktail of comedy and drama with some insightful observations of situations, which most of pray we never find ourselves in but are sadly not uncommon.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester theatre reviews

Blue/Orange

Blue/Orange

at Stockport Garrick Studio

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

My first visit to Stockport's amateur theatre flagship company, The Garrick, this evening proved to be a most interesting and thought-provoking one indeed.

 

The play was new to me, and although it is a very wordy and quite lengthy play, it sustained my and the whole audience's interest and concentration right to the end.

Read more...
 
PDF Print E-mail
Manchester music reviews

Bluebeard's Castle

Bluebeard's Castle

Winter Concert Tour by National Youth Orchestra

at The Bridgewater Hall, Manchester

Reviewed by Matthew Dougall January 2018

 

2018 has started extremely well with my first review of the year, and the National Youth Orchestra's first concert of the year.

 

I have to be honest though, that when the idea of my reviewing this concert was first mooted I very nearly said no. I am no huge fan of opera at the best of times, and the idea of a concert opera written as a duologue between the two protagonists, with no peripheral visual stimulae, and no discernable harmonic and melodic arias and choruses did nothing to whet my appetite. However, I am always open to new experiences, and being a sterling advocate and supporter of all things youth, I decided I should attend.

Read more...
 
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 8 of 55
Join the Salon Email List
Youtube Video of discussion on Energy
RSS Feed for discussions
Manchester Salon Facebook Group
Manchester Salon Facebook Page
Manchester Salon on Twitter